Top Ten Tuesday: Ten (bookish) Facts About Me

TopTen Tuesday

This meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Tuesday REWIND which just means “go back and do a topic you missed over the years or recently a topic you really want to revisit” so I decided to do  Top Ten Bookish Facts About Me. I kinda already did this with my 25 Bookish Facts About Me (which if you want, you can definitely check out) so this means that I’m going to have to come up with some new facts. Which is kinda hard since I’m not the most interesting person ( okay, well..maybe that’s a slight exaggeration ;D). Anyway, here are Ten Bookish Facts About Me, in no particular order.


1.I like to read the last paragraph of a cheesy romance novels whenever I see them in the store. You know those $5.99 paperbacks that you see in the food store near the check out aisle? Yeah well, I like to read the last page to see how it ends. The reason why I started to do this is because I read a book when I was younger entitled  Destiny, Rewritten by  Kathryn Fitzmaurice whose main character does the same thing, and being the impressionable kid that I was, I decided to do it as well and haven’t stopped since.

2. I don’t re-read books. Like, ever. To me, it’s just not the same experience as reading a novel for the first time. 

3.I’m always looking to see what other people are reading while I’m out and about, which usually results in awkward eye contact.

awkward crowd pride and prejudice forever alone matthew macfadyen

4.When I was younger I used to get grounded a lot because my parents would catch me staying up late reading under my blankets on school nights. Thankfully I have learned from my amateurish ways and rarely get caught anymore (mom, if you’re reading this please ignore this).

5. During my middle grade years I only read books that had won literary awards and I hated 99.99% of them. I would not recommend doing this.

huge mistake arrested development ive made a huge mistake

6. Right now I have 16 books out on hold from the library ( it helps to have inside sources) and I have no idea how I’m going to finish them all before the end of August. Although I am excited to be reading so many books that have been on my tbr forever.

7.I try my best to avoid non-fiction and biographies, even though I usually end up enjoying them. Most of the time I have to read non-fiction for homework and so I tend to avoid anything that reminds me of my (evil)English teacher and read YA. Although I am trying to work on this. For instance, I’ve recently read one of my favorite biographies (and also the only biography that I have ever read) was “Audrey Hepburn, An Elegant Spirit” which I really enjoyed and highly recommend. 

 168560

8. Honestly, if I had to choose I would much rather read and review a newly released book than to do the same for a backlist title. I find that after a while there are so many newer books that I’m dying to read that I simply put on hold reading older books (this doesn’t include classics). Also when it comes to reviewing backlist titles they don’t receive the same amount of pageviews. And yes, I know that this sounds shallow but I like but I like to review a hyped new release and to be able to talk about it in the comments or on social media.

9. My favorite poet is Pablo Neruda. His poems are just so beautiful, especially when you read them in the original translation of Spanish.

Gianna July 2016 138.JPG

10. I’m pretty terrible at reading arcs before their release date. I say to myself “don’t read it four months before it’s release because then you’ll forget most of the plot when you write a review” then I end up reading it weeks after it’s released. This is shameful and yes, I’m working on it.


So….I hope that you enjoyed this post! Let me know if you also have some similar bookish facts about yourself!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten (bookish) Facts About Me

  1. I don’t really reread as well, but I think that’s just because I get really distracted and bored if it hasn’t been that long since I first read the book. It’s definitely not the same experience as reading a novel for the first time, but I do save my rereads for very, very special novels. ❤

    16 books from the library are a lot! And here I think I'm drowning with like, 3 loans and 3 reserves. I've been pretty good and responsible lately, though, so I'm holding back a bit. 😛

    Like

  2. You know, the first time I met a person who told me she didn’t re-read books – ever – I was shocked. I was like: “what? why?”
    But ever since then I come to understand it. Even though I do still love re-reading, I find myself not re-reading as much as I used to.
    Still, you’re only the second person I met that doesn’t re-read books *at all* (:

    What! Being grounded for reading late at night? Even if it *is* a school night, this kind of punishment should be against the law!

    I also avoid non-fiction and biographies, but my reason is not liking them and not school-related ^^
    Still, I can totally get why one would avoid such books so to not remember your evil teachers.

    Me too. I find that I tend to read much more newer books rather than older ones or ones that have been on my TBR for a looong time. Even though I *should* probably get to them. It’s a real problem ‘^^

    I don’t have a favorite poet but I do so love the poem Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe (:
    I don’t really read much poetry, I have to admit.

    Really? But you could always write all your thoughts about the ARC right after finishing it, so even if you can only publish the review a few weeks – or months – later, you’ll still have all the thoughts you had just when you finished it. Not to mention, you’ll also probably have new ones after spending more time mulling over it.
    Just a thought ^__^

    I really enjoyed reading these ten random facts about you! It was very fun to get to know you this way (:
    And I also found myself relating to some of your facts. .
    Great TTT post! (:

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for such a lovely comment! Yes, I know it’s such a terrible habit of mine but I don’t know what happens. I start to write down my thoughts and then when I go back to write my review they just don’t make as much sense and I find that I’m not as passionate about what I’m writing about. I also agree with you about the whole ” no staying up late reading rules” being ridiculous but I guess that my parents figured a nine year old can’t stay up reading until 3 am ;D Thanks again for stopping by!

      Like

  3. My favorite poet is Langston Hughes, in fact he is the only poet I like. Ha ha. If I read an ARC way before the pub date I review it on Goodreads and then write the blog review and leave it in draft form until a weel before it comes out. 🙂

    Like

    • I know that I should do it but for whatever reason, every time I do it I end up only writing like half of a coherent review and then never get back to it 😦 I’ve never heard of Langstone Hughes so I’m going to have to check out some of his works.Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

