Say Hello to Summer Book Releases: Guest post with Lauren Gibaldi author of Autofocus

Say hello To Summer Book Release (1)

Hello everyone, I’m  so excited about being able to host an exclusive character interview with the author of Autofocus, Lauren Gibaldi. When I first read about Autofocus, I knew that it was going to be one of my favorite books of this year… and so far it’s amazing! I’m currently reading it right now, so make sure to watch out for my upcoming review! Anyway, I hope that you love reading this interview as much as I did. But, before we begin, I’m going to share some information about the book.

P.S. To learn more about Say Hello To Summer Book Releases click here!


25263136

 

Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi

Genre: YA  Contemporary Romance
Page Length: 352 Pages
Publication Date: June 14th, 2016
Publisher: Harper Collins


Summary from Goodreads:

Family.

It’s always been a loaded word for Maude. And when she is given a senior photography assignment—to create a portfolio that shows the meaning of family—she doesn’t quite know where to begin. But she knows one thing: without the story of her birth mother, who died when Maude was born, her project will be incomplete.

So Maude decides to visit her best friend, Treena, at college in Tallahassee, Florida, where Maude’s birth mother once lived. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena has changed. With a new boyfriend and a packed social calendar, Treena doesn’t seem to have time for Maude—or helping Maude in her search.

Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude in her search, she starts to find that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future.

Lauren Gibaldi has crafted a beautiful and timely coming-of-age story that poses the question: Is who we are determined at birth, or can we change as we grow?

LINKS! HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | Books-A-Million | Goodreads

What I did this Month (2)

Hello! I’m Lauren Gibaldi, the author of THE NIGHT WE SAID YES and AUTOFOCUS, the latter of which just came out last month. To celebrate the release, The Petite Book Blogger is hosting an exclusive interview with one of my characters. I’m really excited about this, and hope you are, too.

 

So fresh off another Star Wars marathon, here’s Bennett from AUTOFOCUS.

Lauren: Hey Bennett—thanks for letting me interview you!

Bennett: Oh, hey, um, no problem. This is weird. I’m on a blog.

Lauren: You sure are. So tell us a little bit about yourself.

Bennett: Um, I’m Bennett. I’m a freshman in college, majoring in animation. I’m gonna work for Pixar one day. I mean, I don’t know that I am, but it’s a goal. Like, how could I not want to work for them? Have you seen Finding Dory yet? It’s insane. Like, that’s talent.

Lauren: It’s super good. What else do you like?

Bennett: Uh, movies. I just finished Force Awakens again. I was reading the new C-3PO comic about his red arm origin and I had to go back and re-watch. I mean, that stuff is deep. So, yeah, obviously Star Wars. And comics. I got pretty into the Hawkeye series. Everyone hates on him because he’s kind of lame in the movies, but I think they forget that he’s also human? Like, he could actually get hurt unlike Hulk who’ll just, you know, Hulk out.

Lauren: Right, completely agree. So tell us a bit about Maude. She visited, right? Wait, are you blushing?

Bennett: No. Whatever. She’s cool. She just came here to visit Treena, this girl from one of my classes who lives a floor below me. We met at a party. Anyway, she was finding information on her birth mom, so I helped her out. It was pretty cool.

Lauren: How cool?

Bennett: We were like detectives, you know? Like Sherlock Holmes.

Lauren: So what did you find out about her mother?

Bennett: That’s not my story to share.

Lauren: You’re definitely blushing.

Bennett: Can I go back to my movie?

Lauren: *Sigh*. Okay. Thanks for joining me. It was great talking to you again.

Bennett: Wait, have we met?


994567_488563777894153_210522374_n

About the Author:

Lauren Gibaldi is a public librarian who’s been, among other things, a magazine editor, high school English teacher, bookseller, and circus aerialist (seriously). She has a BA in Literature and Master’s in Library and Information Studies. She lives in Orlando, Florida with her husband and daughter. Her books include THE NIGHT WE SAID YES, MATT’S STORY, and AUTOFOCUS.

I love dinosaurs, pasta, musicals, and cheesy jokes.

I’m represented by Claire Anderson-Wheeler with Regal Literary.

Links! Twitter: @laurengibaldi|Facebook: Lauren Gibaldi Author|Tumblr: Lauren the Librarian|Goodreads: Lauren Gibaldi|Instagram: Lauren’s Instagram| Blog: 

 


Thank you so much Ms. Gibaldi for sharing this character interview with us! I’m so glad that you were able to participate in SHTSBR! Make sure to pick up a copy of Autofocus and/ or bookstore and share with the hashtag #SHTSBR!

3 thoughts on “Say Hello to Summer Book Releases: Guest post with Lauren Gibaldi author of Autofocus

Leave a Reply

