Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Peeves

TopTen Tuesday.jpg

 

 

This meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads. But I didn’t feel like doing it so I decided  to choose a topic that would be easy for me to write about. So this week I’ll be complaining discussing (in no particular order) my bookish pet peeves.


1.Why  do 99.99% of young adult book characters hate health foods? I mean, besides Mia Thermopolis, every character seems to be very opposed to health foods and I don’t understand why. Now when I say health food I don’t mean tofu or seitan because those “proteins” are very unhealthy. I just wish that we saw them getting a salad instead of a burrito or a fresh pressed juice instead of a milkshake which brings us to pet peeve number two.

 

2.EVERY SINGLE MAIN CHARACTER IN YA LITERATURE IS A JUNK EATER!!!!! Because it absolutely grosses me out reading about soda, liquid dairy, or greasy meat ( oh god this is the absolute worst) I have given books a lesser rating and have even DNF’ed one or two of them. A few examples are Dumplin’, HIT, The DUFF, All the Feels, and This Ordinary Life. Why aren’t authors promoting healthy eating in literature?  Do they do this to make them seem more relate-able? Whatever the reasoning may be, I don’t want to have to read about people eating junk food.

kate hudson how to lose a guy in 10 days

3.Ugly covers. There are so many incredible artist s out there in the world, why do publishers use ugly models and amateur photoshopping still? I won’t even read a book if it has an ugly cover let alone purchase one. 

 They make my eyes hurt just looking at them.

nsfw frustrated facepalm the muppets disgusted

4. Throwing in useless characters just to move along the story. How many times have you read a book where there is an annoying ex who just won’t go away but the author uses to write about first love like The Love That Split The World? When a friend is turned into a caricature to add humor. Or has that one “friend” who say things like “over there” ,”yeah” or my favorite “she smiled at me as we passed each other in the hallway”. Just think about it, there’s one in almost every book!

5. In order to be a “strong” female character you can only read classics, hate make up, and not be concerned about your appearance.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with liking to wear make up and yet, authors continually use this same trope in almost every book. I don’t think that we should enforce this stereotype by including this in so many books. Obviously not every girl and not ever characters have the same likes but do we really need to continually make a character who is concerned about their appearance the vain and shallow one? No. The answer is no. 

6.Adults are complete idiots. If they aren’t absent in your life and completely ruining your childhood then you will find that you can’t trust them because it’s not like they have anything better to do than obsess over (killing) teenagers. Alright the may sounds a little extreme but it applies to dystopian books, because there’s nothing like a bunch of teens outwitting the government. This one always cracks me up because I can’t be bothered to talk to fourteen year old’s, I can hardly imagine obsessing over capturing a rouge group of teens. But the worst thing is when problems van be solved because adults are too dumb to see what the teenagers can easily deduce

kate winslet divergent divergentedit divergencedaily kwinsletedit

7. Overly describing insignificant items that have no bearing on the plot. Like, I’m really not interested in what the vase looks like let’s just get on with it.

benedict cumberbatch sarcasm sarcastic angry frustrated

8. “You’re not like other girls”. Pray tell, then what am I like? Like other dogs, fuzzy bunnies, baby elephants??? What are you alluding to!?! 

mean girls

 

9. When the ending of a series or a book is neatly wrapped together in the last 30 pages. This happens a lot in mysteries, where we are continually building up to a huge ending but instead we are given a ridiculous solution. This happened in The Daughter of Deep Silence, at first it was amazing but then she started making stupid decisions and the ending sucked! 

10. Weird Names. I love unique names as much as the next person but whatever happened to names like Ann and James? Instead we have names like America, Tuesday ,Emmica ,Keller, Katniss, Gale etc..


So what are your bookish pet peeves? Do you agree with any of my pet peeves? Let me know in the comments below!

 

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. This is a great list! I hadn’t realised that YA characters eat a lot of junk food until you said so, but yeees. For some reason I’m not annoyed by it though – I mean, I think it’s just generally what people sometimes do when out with their friends at that age, haha. You eat healthy at home and splurge a bit outside. :p

    That being said, I also don’t like the whole “not like other girls” thing! I find it kind of offensive and any male lead that says something along those lines usually ends up unappealing to me. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • It annoys me because I’m very health conscious, I know that most people aren’t so it doesn’t annoy them 😉 Yeah, the “you’re not like other girls” is really just a pathetic line to put into any book. It’s not charming, and certainly not something that we should encourage.

      Like

  2. I love this post! There are some things I didn’t even realize bothered me, until you said it. Especially the makeup one. I hate it so much. There’s nothing wrong with loving makeup, and it doesn’t make you any less strong or capable. And I never even noticed the healthy food one, but you’re right! Why isn’t it represented more?

    Liked by 1 person

    • What makes me so upset about the bashing of people who wear makeup up is that a lot of authors who I follow on Twitter are constantly vocalizing their feminist beliefs and yet they still enforce these stereotypes. I like make up and it doesn’t make me vain! Yeah, and also I don’t know why we aren’t helping to promote healthier eating in literature. Hopefully this will change.

      Like

      • Exactly! In real life, everyone is against this bashing of people who wear makeup -well, the smart people are. Yet it never translates into their works. I guess us noticing -and informing more people, and them noticing- will get people to think about it, and hopefully change it!

        Like

  3. Wow! You have a great post today. Yes, I agree with every one of your pet peeves. I’ve complained about all of these so many times.

    Like

    • I always hear people acting like it’s vain to want nice covers but to me, I want an item that I’m going to purchase to be aesthetically pleasing to look at. Thank you so much for stopping by, I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post!

      Like

  4. Your post had me cracking up at times and had me nodding my head yes. I hate the absent parent trope. I mean I understand the ones that are purposefully absent, but the ones that just have no personality and don’t realize anything is going on, like they’re robots or something. Im also not a fan of using actual people in book covers, like Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi. Those models looked nothing like the characters, and their clothing didn’t even match. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like not being able to write a whole family well in a book is a reflection on the authors ability as a writer. If you can’t make every character have depth then don’t include them! Oh yeah, I also hate those Veronica Rossi covers, thy’re REALLY ugly :/

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeeeesssss, to 3, 4, & 9!! I don’t have a problem with some of them that you listed, but I really do agree with 3, 4, & 9. I don’t have many pet peeves, but I think my biggest one when it comes to YA would definitely have to be love triangles or ugly covers xD Wonderful post! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

  6. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh yes, but you’re not like the other girls :D! I hate that so much XD if every girl is not like the other girls then doesn’t that make all girls the same? Like wuuuuut XD? Come on, I swear I AM like other girls, I not only LOOK like my twin sister, I always have a lot of the same interests XD but thank you for trying to flatter me :3 ohhh man.
    I agree with these!! I don’t see a lot of the junk food thing because I read a lot of books that don’t talk about eating D: the poor characters I read about never get to try a doughnut. Can you imagine Celaena eating a doughnut? I think she’d go nuts… but I think she might like strawberries… 🙂 I wonder what foods these people eat O_O Wouldn’t it be funny to get a light hearted book from Sarah J. Maas about the TOG characters 🙂 I’d like that…
    But now I am off topic. My BIGGEST Pet Peeve when it comes to YA is the mysterious boy who knows EVERYTHING D:< I hate it with my life. I have to admit, I've put books down because of that trope. It is way over used… BLEH…
    But nice list 😀 Wooh *tosses confetti*
    Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

