Say Hello To Summer Book Releases: 26 Kisses by Anna Michels

Say hello To Summer Book Release (1)

Hello everyone, I’m so excited to be interviewing author Anna Michels today on the blog!

Today I’ll be sharing an interview with Ms. Michels, which I am really excited for you to get to know more about her writing process, how she comes up with character names and more! Before we begin, I’m going to share some information about the book.

P.S. To learn more about Say Hello To Summer Book Releases click here!


25263947

26 Kisses by Anna Michels

Genre: YA   Contemporary Romance
Page Length: 304 Pages
Publication Date: May 24 th, 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse


Summary:

Breaking up with her boyfriend is not how Veda planned on starting her summer. When Mark makes it clear that it’s over between them, Veda is heartbroken and humiliated—but, more importantly, she’s inspired. And so she sets out on the love quest of a lifetime: use the summer to forget about Mark, move on, and move up. All she has to do is kiss twenty-six boys with twenty-six different names—one for each letter of the alphabet.

From the top of the Ferris wheel at her hometown carnival to the sandy dunes of Lake Michigan, Veda takes every opportunity she can to add kisses (and boys) to her list, and soon the breakup doesn’t sting quite as much. But just when Veda thinks she has the whole kissing thing figured out, she meets someone who turns her world upside down.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Anna Michels’s debut is the story of one girl who realizes that moving on from the supposed love of your life means taking a chance—and having the courage to love again.

LINKS! Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble


What I did this Month (7)

Q. Who was your favorite character to write?

A. Killian was such a blast! My favorite part about his character was that it gave me an excuse to look up random facts and George Bernard Shaw quotes, and thinking of which song lyrics he would have written on his dashboard was also super fun.

Q. How did you come up with the names of your characters?

A. I used baby names websites to come up with names that I thought were cute and memorable, but not too weird. I wanted to avoid having a book filled with characters with short, forgettable names, because I suspected they would all start to blend together for the reader after a while.

Q. What quote from 26 Kisses do you wish made it to the final copy?

A. I think my favorite quote is one that I had actually forgotten about until it popped up in a review: “Writing on your dashboard is the kind of thing people who don’t believe in regrets do.” I’d like to think I’m one of those people.

Q. What are your least favorite scenes to write?

A. Any kind of transition scene is tricky. If you need to get your character from their house to somewhere else so they can see another character, they need to have a reason for going out, transportation, etc. This was especially tricky in 26 Kisses because Veda doesn’t have a car!

Q. What’s your writing process like?

A. Sporadic! I wish I was someone who could put together a fool-proof writing routine, but I’m not. I tend to roam around the house with my laptop, alternating between my desk, the couch, and the porch, to keep things interesting.

Q. Have you always wanted to be a writer?

A. Yes, always. It was definitely a life goal to have a book published. I’m also lucky enough to work in publishing as my day job, so it’s books 24/7 for me!


Thank you so much Ms. Michels for answering my questions! Make sure to pick up a copy of 26 Kisses at your local library and/ or bookstore and share with the hashtag #SHTSBR!

2 thoughts on “Say Hello To Summer Book Releases: 26 Kisses by Anna Michels

Leave a Reply

