Blog Tour: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

Blog Tour- The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder.jpg


21525988

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Page Length: 256 Pages
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Publisher: Simon & Shuster
Source: ARC via Irish Banana Blog Tours

Stars: 4.5 out of 5


ABOUT THE MUSEUM OF HEARTBREAK:

In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up.

Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak.

Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak.

Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately.

But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken.

LINKS!: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository


What I did this Month (6)

After sitting here at my computer for what seems like hours ( okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration) I have come to the realization that there is no way that I can write a coherent review for The Museum of Heartbreak. Instead, I have decided to simply list all of  the reasons why you need to buy this book. I’m not going to be examining the plot in depth because I feel like it might take away from your enjoyment of the story. So that being said, here are the reasons why you must add The Museum of Heartbreak to your tbr.

image

I absolutely loved the setting! The author was able to perfectly capture how magical New York City is in the fall, and in some parts of the story I actually felt like I was there with Eph and Penelope when they were at the Brooklyn flea market, a vintage shop or in The Museum of Natural History. Having our main character visiting little hole in the wall cafes or boutiques lent an air of authenticity to the story and helped transport the readers to the setting.

 

Reading The Museum of Heartbreak felt like I was reading one of my favorite rom-coms. I say this for two reasons; 1. The plot itself was kinda predictable. And what I mean by that is that I was able to anticipate the outcome of the plot 99.99% of the time. Which is why I took a half star off of my rating. Although amazingly, that didn’t stop me from being totally invested in the story and the outcome of the characters.

animated reading gif

Literally me

The second reason why I say this is that while The Museum of Heartbreak may seem like it’s a fluffy contemporary on the exterior, it has a lot of important underlying themes in the story that are applicable to everyone no matter the age. I’m glad that this story never had to get to the point were it became depressing in order for it to address themes such as; change, whether it’s in a friendship, family or marriage, first love and heartbreak. We see how overtime relationships and people change and while it’s hard to accept sometimes for the best. Another prevalent theme was if there really such a thing as happily ever after? While not all of the character relationships get all of the happily ever afters that we expected, it gives us a sense of hope to eventually have one ourselves. 

Finally, there’s a main character who I can relate to! Minus her aversion to kale ( like seriously? Why does everyone hate kale? I LOVE kale, it’s like my  number 5 favorite vegetable!) and over consumption of m&m’s we are pretty much are kindred spirits. Penelope’s love of vintage clothing, reading, dinosaurs ( well, maybe not that aspect) and really made her character a stand out against the typical ya protagonist. It’s so refreshing to read about a character who’s positive and able to see the good in people. To me, this is what a strong female protagonist should be like. Penelope knew who she was fundamentally and was unapologetic for her belief in happily ever after and  who didn’t allow for someone to mistreat her.

All of the character relationships were very well developed. Which is quite a feat considering how short this book is. Us readers were really able to get to know all of the characters very well. I especially loved reading about her friendship with Eph. I found him to be equally as unique as Penelope, with his aspirations to be an artist and  love of comics and vintage  clothing. 

Overall, I would recommend The Museum of Heartbreak to everyone. Even if you aren’t a huge fan of ya contemporary novels I think that you’ll be able to appreciate the story. Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and of Meg Cabot will also love The Museum of Heartbreak. 


Thank you so much Simon & Shuster and  Irish Banana Tours for providing me with a physical copy for review. In compliance with FTC guidelines, I must state that I received this book for free and was in no way compensated for my review.


Favorite Quotes:

Just because someone isn’t at their best doesn’t mean you write them off forever. (189)

“(But then there was this: What if I stepped forward, what if I took his hands, what if I said it back? What if if there were stars falling and orange embers dancing in the air around us and our eyes burned with smoke and our feet hurt from the head and around us dinosaurs roared in pain and we curled around each other, keeping each others heart’s safe?).” (234)

You believe in things so wholly, in absolute friendship and epic true love, and your heart is so amazingly big. (244)

Sometimes you get hurt. And sometimes you’re the one doing the hurting. (255)


Meg Leder.jpgABOUT MEG LEDER:
A former bookseller and teacher, Meg Leder currently works as a book editor in New York City. Her role models are Harriet the Spy and Anne Shirley. She is the coauthor of The Happy Book, and spends her free time reading, looking for street art, and people watching. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can visit her on Twitter at @MegLeder.

LINKS!: Website | Twitter

What I did this Month (3) Giveaway:

3 Finished Copies of THE MUSEUM OF HEARTBREAK (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Copy of What I did this Month
Tour Schedule:
Week 1:
6/6: The Petite Book Blogger – Review
6/7: Swoony Boys Pocast – Dream Cast
6/8: Lost In Lit – Review
6/9: One Night Book Stand – Q&A
6/10: Vibin With Books – Review

Week 2:
6/13: YA Bookmark – Top 10
6/14: The Plot Bunny – Review
6/15: The Hardcover Lover – Guest Post
6/16: He Said Books or Me – Review
6/17: Novel Novice – My Musem

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

  1. You’ve got me sold on this book already! Besides the gorgeous cover, I also love how it seems like a story with a lot of depth and meaning. Those kinds of books are the best!

    Like

  2. This is the second review of this book I’ve read and both make me want to read it! This sounds so emotional, so engaging. A book I will not want to close, and will hug when I’m finished. Does anyone else do that or am I just weird?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I may or may not have hugged the book and danced around my room for a bit afterwards. But seriously, this book is so perfect! Id I were to compare it to something, it would be You’ve got Mail. So…yeah, I think you’ll like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

