Say Hello To Summer Book Releases: Night Speed by Chris Howard

Say hello To Summer Book Release (1).jpg

Hello everyone! I’m thrilled to be introducing the second author in Say Hello To Summer Book Releases, Chris Howard! Today I’ll be sharing an interview with him which I am really excited for you to get to know more about him, his writing process, filming an Epic Author Facts and more! To learn more about Say Hello To Summer Book Releases click here! Before I begin, I’m going to share some information about the book, which was published May 3rd.


26074199

Night Speed by Chris Howard

Genre: YA  Science Fiction
Page Length: 416 Pages
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0062415344


 

Summary from Goodreads:

Only those young enough can survive the pulse-pounding rush of tetra, a dangerous and addictive new drug that fuels a nine-minute burst of superhuman strength and speed. Alana West has been trained to use the drug so she can pursue the young criminals who abuse its power—criminals like the breakneck who nearly killed her kid brother.

On tetra, Alana is unstoppable. The rush makes her an explosive blur as she surges through New York City, battling to bring down breaknecks before they leave more people dead or injured in their wake. But with the clock ticking down to her eighteenth birthday, Alana will soon be too old for the rush…when just one more dose will prove deadly.

Supported only by her strong and steady handler, Tucker, Alana goes undercover, infiltrating an elite gang of breaknecks to stop the supply of their drug. But when Alana gets trapped on the wrong side of the law, she learns the breaknecks are not quite what they seem—especially Ethan, the artistic boy whose bottomless brown eyes seem to see the truth inside her. With her own dependency on tetra increasing, Alana must decide where her loyalties lie before the rush ends. Forever.

Links! Amazon| Barnes & Noble|Google Play|Book Depository 


 

What I did this Month (7)

Q.How long did it take for you to write Night Speed?

A. I wrote the first draft in about six months, then revised it for about a year with the help of my agent, my editor, and my awesome beta readers!

Q.What is your writing method like? i.e. do you need absolute quiet? Prefer writing in coffee shops, need music etc…

A. I usually prefer quiet and no distractions, but sometimes I like to mix it up and head to my favorite coffee shop to do some brainstorming with pen and paper and nothing digital flashing in front of me 🙂 I also like to head up to the mountains in my camper van and work on my words while in the woods. The van has a solar panel on top so I can charge up my laptop 🙂

Q. Are you currently working on any other projects?

A. Yes! Maybe too many! Hopefully some of them will see the light of day, in one form or another 🙂

Q. Did you help in any way design the cover for Night Speed?

A. The cover art is the awesome work of Joel Tippie at HarperCollins. I was one of the voices giving feedback throughout the process but Joel’s vision was always right on, in my opinion, so my feedback was pretty minimal.

Q.Did you have to do any research for Night Speed?

A.Yes! Lots. One thing I had to research a ton was the streets of New York City, so that the characters’ would be navigating Manhattan (with super-speed!!) in a way that made geographic sense with the “real world” … So, lots of Google Earth and Google Maps!

Q.What character was the most difficult to develop/write?

A.Oh, whoa… it’s all a lot of work but it’s so rewarding to tell a story you believe in, and creating the characters is the key to creating the story, so… all of them?! That’s not much of an answer, I guess 🙂 I try to do lots of getting to know the characters before I start writing the story, but then they always surprise me along the way as I write. That’s when they really seem to come to “life”.

Q.What books inspired you to become a writer?

A.Let’s go with… On The Road, The Catcher In The Rye, and The Lord of the Rings.

Q.What was it like filming your Epic Author Facts video? *It’s so cool that you lived in Australia!*

A.Oh, that was fun! The people who made it were super cool. I mostly just answered the questions they asked me 🙂

Q.If you could do one thing to change the world and make it a better place what would you do?

A.I’d remove fear and hate from the human equation.


About The Author:

  I’m the author of ROOTLESS (Scholastic), as well as the follow-up THE RIFT. The final book of the tree-logy, THE RECKONING, is due Summer 2016 and… NIGHT SPEED is OUT NOW from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins. It’s a Young Adult sci-fi thriller and I’m excited for you to read it!!
I live in Denver, but grew up not far from London. I studied natural resources in college, then spent eight years leading wilderness adventure trips for high school students. I like to write more than anything else I’ve ever done, though reading is right up there, too.

LINKS!! Join me on Facebook|Join me on Instagram|Join me on Tumblr|Join me on Twitter


Thank you so much Chris for answering my questions! Make sure to pick up a copy of Night Speed at your local library and/ or bookstore!

2 thoughts on “Say Hello To Summer Book Releases: Night Speed by Chris Howard

Leave a Reply

