{Blog Tour} Review & Giveaway: Girl About Town by Adam Shankman and Laura Sullivan

Girl About Town Tour Banner

 

 

 

23271655

Girl About Town by Adam Shankman and Laura Sullivan

Genre: YA Historical Fiction, Mysteries
Page Length: 304 Pages
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Publisher:  Simon and Schuster
Source: ARC via Irish Banana Tours

Stars: 4.5 out of 5


ABOUT GIRL ABOUT TOWN:

Acclaimed film producer/director Adam Shankman and coauthor Laura Sullivan pen a sparkling, witty, romantic mystery inspired by Nick and Nora Charles and Hollywood glamour.

Not too long ago, Lucille O’Malley was living in a tenement in New York. Now she’s Lulu Kelly, Hollywood’s newest It Girl. She may be a star, but she worries that her past will catch up with her. Back in New York she witnessed a Mafia murder, and this glamorous new life in Tinseltown is payment for her silence.

Dashing Freddie van der Waals, the only son of a New York tycoon, was a playboy with the world at his feet. But when he discovered how his corrupt father really made the family fortune, Freddie abandoned his billions and became a vagabond. He travels the country in search of redemption and a new identity, but his father will stop at nothing to bring him home.

When fate brings Lulu and Freddie together, sparks fly—and gunshots follow. Suddenly Lulu finds herself framed for attempted murder. Together, she and Freddie set out to clear her name. But can they escape their pasts and finally find the Hollywood ending they long for?

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository


What I did this Month (6)

Have you ever read a book that was so good that it left you speechless? Because that how I feel after reading Girl About Town. I don’t know why there aren’t more ya historical fiction novels set in the 20’s? This is such a fascinating time in history to read about, it was an age of progression, the “Golden Age” of Hollywood and when mobsters were very powerful. The authors, Adam Shankman and Laura Sullivan did an excellent job of showing the contrast in lifestyles that the rich and poor had back then.

I was very interested to see how the authors would go about creating the main character, Lulu, because her story is very reminiscent of many of the silent movie actresses of that time. I was worried that they would make her become caught up in all of the Hollywood glamour and be very selfish but instead they surprised me by making her a very humble and sweet girl. Lulu’s ambition to make a better life for herself was my favorite aspect of her characterization.

I also enjoyed reading about Freddie, his decision to leave behind the life that he used to have as the son of  a mobster was very admirable. I liked how he stuck to his beliefs no matter the cost, he is an amazing character. Freddie’s and Lulu’s romance was very sweet but, I’m glad that it wasn’t the focal point of the story.

The mystery itself was very reminiscent of the Thin Man series, very entertaining but a bit predictable at times. Overall, I couldn’t put this book down once I started reading it. I loved everything; the setting, the characters, the plot etc… I would recommend this book to everyone!

What I did this Month (3)

3 Finished Copies of GIRL ABOUT TOWN (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Copy of What I did this Month (1)

BeFunky Collage.jpg

Copy of What I did this Month

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

 

4 thoughts on “{Blog Tour} Review & Giveaway: Girl About Town by Adam Shankman and Laura Sullivan

  1. I love how this book left you speechless! I’m a historical fiction fan, and love when authors do their reseach to get the time period right. Thanks for the post today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know another thing that I appreciated was that they never resorted to pulling lines from old movies, you know what I mean? They never spoke in a corny dialogue that was common in that time period. That doesn’t mean that they didn’t use common slang words but it made them more believable as characters.

      Like

  2. I love historical fiction especially those set around the 1920’s and WWII. I’m upset that I’ve seem no promotion whatsoever about this book. I will definitely add this on to my list. Seems like a great read and something that I would love.

    Awesome review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

