Top Ten Tuesday: YA Novels That Every Historical Fiction Enthusiast Should Read

toptentuesday

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is….Ten Books that made you laugh.

Hey everyone! It’s been such a long time that I participated in a Top Ten Tuesday hasn’t it? Well, I’m back and today I decided to share with all of you today my favorite top ten favorite books of my favorite genre, Historical Fiction ( I honestly can only think of about two books that have made me laugh so I decided to do last weeks prompt). Historical Fiction has  been my favorite genre for as long as I can remember. I just love being able to travel to a different era in history through reading, although nine times out of ten I do end up crying at the end 😦 Anyway that’s enough with the chit chat let’s get on with the recommendations!! Which by the way are in no particular order.


  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I don’t think that I have ever cried like I did after I finished reading The Book Thief. I love everything about it, the characters (especially Rudy), the illustrations and the beautiful writing style. I have recommended The Book Thief to everyone and will continue to do so until everyone that I know has read it!

2.Prisoner of Night and Fog duology by Anne Blankman

I actually like Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke better than Prisoner of Night and Fog because there is a lot more action than the first book and the suspense kept me at the edge of my seat the entire time. Of course I can’t recommend a sequel to you so I’m recommending this fantastic duology!

3.Front Lines by Micheal Grant

I gave this book 5 stars and it is one of my favorites of the year. Its WWII reimagined where women can fight along side of men on the front lines. Which is both fascinating and terrifying at the same time! If you would like a more in depth reason to pick up this incredible book you can read my review!

4.The Silent Boy by Lois Lowry

I actually don’t  know if this is considered ya, I read this in middle school but I remember that it really affected me after I read it. It’s about how autism was viewed in the early 20th century. I would highly recommend that everyone reads this book.

5.The Forbidden Orchid by Sharron Gibbs Waller

The Forbidden Orchid was actually a very informative novel, I had no idea that there used to be plant hunters! I found this book to be very original in its premise, considering how most ya books set in the 1800’s seem to be romance stories. This book was full of adventure and while it did have a romance it wasn’t the focus of the novel which I really liked.

6.To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This is a classic for a reason, it deals with many themes that are still very prevalent in today’s society. If you haven’t read it yet, go and pick it up.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I remember reading Code Name Verity when I was around thirteen years old and not really liking it. Its definitely a book that takes a mature reader to appreciate its story. After re-reading it last year I was able to appreciate the story of these two friends who are both on the opposite sides of the front lines. I’m going to be completely honest and tell you that I did cry at the end of the book, that’s how good it was.

7.Shadow on the Mountain Margi Preus 

This is another WWII novel except that this novel is about the Norwegian resistance, which incidentally, was the most organized resistance out of all of them. This is told from multiple perspectives, our main character who is part of the resistance and the villain, a member of the Hitler Youth Movement. There were so many instances where I was at the edge of my seat with suspense. An incredible book that you need to read.

8. Nory Ryan’s Song by Patricia Reilly Giff 

Nory Ryan’s Song is a ya novel set in Ireland during the Potato Famine of 1845. I don’t think that I have ever heard of another ya book that takes place during this time period. This certainly isn’t a “light read” in fact, it was really hard reading about how they couldn’t understand what was going on and how they really struggled to survive. But this book isn’t just doom and gloom, there are also moments of hope and celebration .

9.Before We Were Free by Julia Alvarez

This was such a powerful story, set in the 1960’s Dominican Republic during Trujillo’s ascent to power. I feel like we rarely see any historical fiction set in Latin America so this was definitely a unique read. There was also a lot of really nice themes of perseverance, hope, and family

10. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks 

A Walk to Remember was such a beautiful and bittersweet novel. I cried after reading it, and absolutely loved it. While it’s different than the movie, it has so many sweet moments and I would totally recommend reading it.


So, have you read any of these books? If so, how did you like them? What are your favorite Historical Fiction recommendations? Let me know in the comments below!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: YA Novels That Every Historical Fiction Enthusiast Should Read

  1. I am glad you mentioned the book about the Potato Famine because I remember reading a book about that time, too, but it would have had to have been written far before Nory Ryan’s Song. Gosh, I wish I could remember the title. I think I might read Nory Ryan’s song. I have a difficult time finding Historical Fiction I would like to read because so much of it is set in war times and I really don’t like that. To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book of all time. My English teacher let me “steal” my copy. I still have it. Even though I didn’t care for war time stories, I do want to read The Book Thief. The Silent Boy sounds wonderful. Thanks for the list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • When you remember the title let me know because I’m super interested in learning more about that time period. The Silent boy is one of those books that stays with you a long time after your done reading it, truly an incredible book. As well as the Book Thief, most WWII novels kind of have the same plot or themes but this book is a stand out, you will be crying and smiling at the same time when you are finished reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

