End of Year Book Survey

 

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-900x865

 

I am so thrilled to have found this End of Year Book Survey, which is hosted by Jamie@PerpetualPageTurner, it’s just such a fun way to recap the year and reminisce all of the wonderful books that I have read in 2015. Seriously, I only disliked 7 books this year, which if you know me it’s kind of a record. This year I read around 43 books, I can’t be sure if this is the exact amount since I sometimes forget add books to my Goodreads shelves.  I do wish that I could have read more but,  I’m not going to beat myself up over it. As student it can be very difficult to find the time to read with all of the homework and assignments that I have to do, so I think that I did okay for my first year of actively reading. I have not only acquired so many amazing books but have also discovered new genres and authors that have become my favorites. My resolution last year was to grow as a reader and I accomplished that, so in hindsight 2015 was a great year .Okay, enough of my rambling it’s time for the survey!

 

 


 

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number Of Books You Read: 43
Number of Re-Reads: 2
Genre You Read The Most From: Contemporary

 

 

 

 

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

 

18798983

It was incredible! The Wrath and the Dawn just had it all, amazing world building, romance, adventure. I’m so glad that I got around to reading it before the year was over. I strongly recommend this book if you’re looking for a great fantasy/retelling novel.

 

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Dumplin picture

I was actually contemplating DNF’ing Dumplin’ before it my elibrary copy expired. I was  underwhelmed by the character of Willowdean, she came off as very insecure and bitter. There was also this daydream aspect to it here they cute football star of a private school falls for her and it was  like come on ,seriously?! *eye roll* I’m still undecided if I’m going to try to read it again, maybe I will sometime in 2016. But it certainly isn’t a priority for me.

 

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

26207516 

I don’t know what I was expecting with Love and Other Alien Experiences but I certainly wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. I really fell in love with the story and the characters. The author did an amazing job of touching upon prevalent themes in today’s society without being preachy. Which is refreshing. This is another book that I strongly recommend to everyone.

 

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

18369372 (1)

I pushed The One Thing onto everyone last year. It was very special book for me because it was the first arc that I ever received and I was able to meet the author Marci Lyn Curtis (she’s amazing!). The One Thing Broke my heart, made me cry and laugh at the same time and whenever I think of it, It brings a smile to my face. Isn’t that the way a book is supposed to make you feel?

 

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

 

I started the the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology this year and I can’t tell you how lucky I was that I didn’t have to wait a year to read the sequel. I can’t even put into words how much I loved this series it was just..

 

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

I don’t  have just one new favorite author. I have discovered Rainbow Rowell, Rick Yancey, Sabaa Tahir, Renee Adieh, Jenny Han, Marci Lyn Curtics, Charlotte Huang, Nicola Yoon, Sarah Dessen, Jenn Bennett, Kerry Winfrey, Jane Mcgarry, Rachael Allen, and Brianna Shrum. They are all extremely tallented authors that I’m grateful to have discovered this year.

 

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

20560137

I usually don’t read epic fantasies so when I picked up An Ember in the Ashes I wasn’t expecting to be so completely blown away by the amazing world building, characters and story. Because it was such a fantastic book it made me open up my horizons as a reader and discover so many new favorites.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

16101128

This book was amazing! I wasn’t sure if I would like it since I have never dabbled into sci-fi but, I could not put down The Fifth Wave. Like an idiot I started reading it later on in the day (3:30 pm) and I ended up staying awake reading until 5:30 am. There was so much action and it was packed with plot twists that completely shocked me. I had the worst book hangover after reading The Fifth Wave. Another amazing read, that I would highly recommend to everyone.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

 

18798983

I don’t normally re-read books since I usually have so many other books that I need to review. But, with The Wrath and the Dawn its different, I want to experience reading it for the first time again.

 

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

Ooh…That’s a though question. Hmm… I guess that I would have to go with…THREE BOOKs! (insert evil laughter and lightning)

 

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

noteverygirl_1400x2100

Wait, what? You can’t make me choose, that’s not fair! Oh, alright if I had to choose I would pick Olivia from Not Every Girl. She is the daughter of the Master-of–Arms and is training to become a knight, which is unheard of in her time period. Olivia is unlike any other YA protagonist that I have ever read (she’s is essentially Mulan, and I love Mulan) and the only word that comes to mind when I describe her is unique. 

 

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

18692431

Hands down, it was Everything, Everything. I’ve never read anything quite like it and honestly, I was profoundly moved by the story of Madeline. Nicola Yoon’s writing was a combination of poetry, art and had such a lyrical, whimsical quality to it. 

 

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

25278470

 

Um…I don’t know. I think that all books can be thought provoking and can change the way you perceive certain things. If I had to choose I would say that Placebo Junkies was the most thought provoking book that I’ve read this year. It discusses human testing, which is a topic that I’m not that familiar with. After reading Placebo Junkies, I went and started to research the topic and now I’m more aware of the subject.

 

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

16068905

 

This is the book that started it all, my obsession love for ya contemporary. I feel like I’m starting to sound redundant, that I keep saying the same thing over and over, but what can I say? I read a lot of really good books this year. So to sum it up,  my love for Fangirl is….

 

 wow

 15. Favorite Passages/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“You have a beautiful laugh. Like the promise of tomorrow.”
Renee Ahdieh, The Wrath and the Dawn    

Some things exist in our lives for but a brief moment. And we must let them go on to light another sky.”
Renee Ahdieh, The Wrath and the Dawn    

“You are an ember in the ashes, Elias Veturius. You will spark and burn, ravage and destroy. You cannot change it. You cannot stop it.”

Sabaa Tahir, An Ember in the Ashes

“Life is made of so many moments that mean nothing. Then one day, a single moment comes along to define every second that comes after. Such moments are tests of courage, of strength.”
Sabaa Tahir, An Ember in the Ashes

Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”
Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

“To die, thought the lost boy in place of the Captain, will be an awfully big adventure.” – Never, Never”
Brianna Shrum, Never Never

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

This Ordinary Life by Jennifer Walkup was the shortest book that I read this year with only 258 pages and Insurgent by Veronica Roth with 525 pages.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

 

16101128

I’m sure that if you read The Fifth Wave you know exactly why I chose this book. While there are a lot of plot twists in this book that are very shocking there is one in particular that stands out and its just leaves you speechless.

giphy (6)

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

 

18798983

Shazrad and Khalid. I really don’t think that I need to elaborate as to why I love them so much.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

23717499

 

The Revenge Playbook was not only the funniest book that I read this year but, it had one of the best friendship as well. The four main characters Ana, Melanie Jane, Liv, and Peyton had very different and unique personalities but together they were hilarious to read. You can read my review here.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

download (1)

While I did have some mixed feelings about All Fall Down, because it didn’t live up to my expectations. I still enjoyed reading it, and now I have a whole new series to look forward to reading. I’m very excited to read See How They Run and fall in love with a whole new set of characters.

 

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

23009402

No one pressured me to read or recommended Saint Anything to me, I just kept seeing all of these glowing reviews on Goodreads, Tumblr, Twitter, and blogs. So one day I was perusing my local library and decided to pick it up. Saint Anything wasn’t what I was expecting and in a good way. I’m really glad that because of all of the hype surrounding the book I decided to read it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

I can’t pick just one, how could I possibly choose between Peter Kavinsky, Elias Veturius, Khalid, and Alexie? It is simply impossible, so I’m choosing all of them.

 

 

 

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

18692431

All of them? Wait no, that’s a lie, I didn’t like a few of them. So the best 2015 debut will have to go to The Wrath and the Dawn, An Ember in the Ashes, Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

20560137

I should have read more books this year, I feel like I keep repeating myself and picking the same  books over and over. I’ve racked my brain for about twenty minutes and can’t think of anything else other than An Ember in the Ashes. The Martial Empire was not only very complex with many different types people and cultures but it was also very well written. Usually it’s very easy to become confused in a book when there are so many characters but, that was not the case for this book.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

23717499

 

To understand why The Revenge Playbook was funny you’ll have to read it yourself. It’s a book about four girls getting revenge on their football team, how could it not be funny?

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

18369372 (1)

I sobbed while reading this book, there were so many parts that just broke my heart and I was a mess the entire time that I read The One Thing.

 

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

23286273

It doesn’t seem like too many people read The Secret of the Sevens which is a shame because it was a really good book. It’s a mystery filled with riddles, codes, and is essentually National Treasure in the form of a book. The only difference is that instead of a treasure hunt this story is about a secret society at a school for underprivileged children. This is possibly my favorite mystery book of the year. You can read my review here.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

18249315.jpg

Those Girls crushed my soul for all of the wrong reasons. It was the worst book that I have ever read and it put me into a huge reading/blogging slump. I can’t even believe that this book was published because it sucked. Do not read this book, trust me I wasted four hours of my life reading this trash.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

21424692

For the Record was unique because of the way the author portrayed the life of a indie rock band. I felt that it was told from a really unique perspective, the protagonist was trying to integrate herself into already established band. She didn’t have to reinvent herself, the band wasn’t struggling to get to the top. So instead of it using all of the common tropes that you usually find in books about musicians, the author made For The Record feel authentic ( her husband is Fall out Boy’s manager). You can read my review here.

 

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

25246253

Oh, this book made me mad and I hated it. Not only was the story cheesy, the characters were poorly written and it also wasn’t researched well. You can read my review here

book-blogging

 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Ahhh! There are too many to name!

and so many more.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

cover61560-medium

My review of Alive by Scott Sigler was my favorite of this year. I just think that it was the best one that I wrote, so that’s why it’s my favorite.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

My favorite and (only) discussion was What I look for in reviews 

 

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

It would definitely have to be joining the Sunday Street Team, which in case you didn’t know, it’s a blog tour company that is owned by Nori@ReadWriteLove28. Thanks to not only it’s incredible owner, but also the amazing authors who  participate in it, I have read so many incredible books and been able to meet so many bloggers through it.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

 

When I was accepted into the Harper Summer 2016 Tour! It was an incredible feeling, because so many bloggers signed up to participate in it and I was chosen. I’m still over the moon that I’m a part of this incredible tour.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Reviewing. It’s definitely the most challenging part of blogging for me. Sometime it can be very difficult for me to write down my sentiments about a book.  I can’t always write down two or three paragraphs about why I like a book sometimes I just do. I’m slowly becoming better at it, and writing down notes as I read really helps. Hopefully, I’ll write a lot more reviews this year.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

The Vogue Book Tag was the most popular post of the year. Which I’m really thankful for since, I worked really hard to come up with all of the questions.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

To be honest with youThe Vogue Book Tag . While it was the most popular post this year not that many people participated in the tag. 

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Okay, I’m drawing a complete blank here. Unless bookstagram counts as a bookish discovery I have’t discovered anything. *shocking*

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

giphy (14)

No, I did not finish or accomplish anything this year other than watching every I Love Lucy episode that there is, and watching more movies than the amount of books that I read this year.

looking-ahead-books-2015

 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

24751478

Illuminae, Dreamstrider, books that I was suppose to review but never got around to it, where do I even begin? I have so many books that I wanted to read and didn’t get to. Although in all honesty, I’ll probably read Soundless by Richelle Mead first since it’s due back to the library soon and I can’t afford to keep paying late fees.

2. Books You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

These are just a handful of the books that I’m anticipating for this year. A few of them have already been released but, I didn’t get a chance to read them last year so I’m definitely going to be picking them in 2016.

3. 2016 Debuts You Are Most Anticipating?

I actually have a lot more debuts that I’m looking forward to reading this year but, I just don’t feel like uploading all of those photos. So here are two of the books that I am excited to have featured in my amazing super secret summer project that I’m so excited for you guys to see!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

I can’t believe how long I need to wait until I get my hands on the sequels of my favorite books. 

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

I hope to do many things in 2016, such as; reading 100 books, coming up with new features, review more on my blog, commenting more on other blogs, and being more consistent. But my number one goal is to have fun.

 

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven’t read any 2016 releases yet so I really don’t have anything to recommend to other people.

 

Well, it only took me three days, seven playlists, four cups of tea and 3,100 words for me to finish the End of the Years Survey. Which I think is a fantastic way to end the year of 2015 and start 2016. Hopefully you guys enjoy reading the result of my survey as much as I liked writing it. 

xoxo,

Victoria

 

10 thoughts on “End of Year Book Survey

  1. So sweet to get a mention from you! I am always so inspired by these posts and wish that I had the energy to compile all of my thoughts like you have. So many wonderful accomplishments and amazing books in your post. I absolutely agree with you about Wrath!!! Good luck with your 2016 goals! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve actually only read a few of the books you’ve mentioned. *hides* Clearly I didn’t read a lot of books last year. Oh no, I’ve heard so many positive reviews about Dumplin’. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it though.

    Lovely post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can definitely relate to it being hard to read as a student! I want to try to read a little bit everyday, even if it’s just a chapter before I go to bed. I loved THE WRATH AND THE DAWN and it was definitely my favorite of the year, too! Good luck on your 2016 goals!

    -Jordan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

