{ARC Review} This Ordinary Life by Jennifer Walkup

25246253      

Author: Jennifer Walkup
Genre: Contemporary
Format: Physical ARC
Pages: 227
Published: October 26th, 2015
Publisher: Luminis Books, Inc.

Stars: 1 out of 5

Summary from Goodreads

 High-school radio host Jasmine Torres’s life is full  of family dysfunction, but if she can score the  internship of her dreams with a New York City  radio station, she knows she can turn things  around. That is, until her brother Danny’s latest  seizure forces her to miss the interview, and she’s  back to the endless loop of missing school for his  doctor appointments, picking up the pieces of her  mother’s booze-soaked life, and stressing about  Danny’s future.

 Then she meets Wes. He’s the perfect  combination of smart, cute, and funny. He also  happens to have epilepsy like her brother. Wes is  living a normal life despite his medical issues,  which gives Jasmine hope for Danny. But  memories of her cheating ex-boyfriend keep her  from going on a real date with Wes, no matter  how many times he asks her.

Jasmine can’t control everything. Not who wins the internship, not her mother’s addiction, not her brother’s health–not even where her heart will lead her. She wishes she could just have an ordinary life, but maybe what she already has is pretty extraordinary after all. 

Goodreads| Amazon| Barnes & Noble| BookDepository

Review:

So, did you just read the summary? Well, if you didn’t, go back and read it. You’ve basically read the first ninety pages of the book. Yeah, it’s pretty incredible how ninety pages of a book can be summarized in one chapter and yet, I don’t know where to start in my review. There’s so much that I want to talk about in my review of This Ordinary Life that it’s hard for me to collect my thoughts. This is normally the part where I talk about the main character but, to be honest with you there really nothing to say about Jasmine “Jazzy” Torre’s. I thought that her aspirations to be a DJ were unique. I was supposed to like Jasmine “but, I just couldn’t. Jasmine was Danny’s caregiver, the teen that takes care of everything, she has all of this stress and responsibility and guess what? She will constantly remind you that she takes care of everything and will not stop whining about it! I get it, that this is a lot for a seventeen year old to have to handle. But, her constantly reminding the readers of how much it was a burden to her taking care of everything became tiresome and annoying. I could care less about her or any of the characters. I like reading books where the characters are genuine and written in-depth. This Ordinary Life’s character’s were so….. cheesy, cliché, and written for their target audience. I mean, get real, like some handsome, rich, smart, sensitive, mature seventeen year old boy will be willing to do half of the things that Wes does for Jasmine? Reading about their relationship felt like I was reading a fantasy. That they’re first date was in a coffee shop/bookstore seemed like a cheap attempt to be a favorite among readers. Maybe this is something that will appeal to other’s but, I honestly really disliked their entire relationship or about any relationship in this book. I didn’t even like her relationship with Danny. Sister’s don’t interact with their brother’s like Jasmine and Danny did. At first I thought that Danny was four by the way he spoke, he didn’t even act like a seven year old! I have a sister who is seven and I have more intellectual conversations with her than I do with most adults! Why he was written to be so childish, is beyond me. Another thing that really bothered me was Danny’s diet and I’ll tell you why. Throughout this story Danny eat’s almost nothing but, carbs. Bagels, pizza, chips, mac and cheese ect. Danny is epileptic and his medicine doesn’t keep his seizures under control. He should be on the Ketogenic diet.

  • The ketogenic diet is a special high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet that helps to control seizures in some people with epilepsy. It is prescribed by a physician and carefully monitored by a dietitian. It is stricter than the modified Atkins diet, requiring careful measurements of calories, fluids, and proteins.
  • Doctors usually recommend the ketogenic diet for children whose seizures have not responded to several different seizure medicines. It is particularly recommended for children with the Lennox-Gastaut syndrome.
  • Because the amount of carbohydrate and protein in the diet have to be restricted, it is very important to prepare meals carefully.
  • No other sources of carbohydrates can be eaten. (Even toothpaste might have some sugar in it!). – ( to read more about the Ketogenic diet visit Epilepsy.com)

How can you write a book about epilepsy and not even research it? Personally, I read books with characters who have disabilities in order for me to understand the disease better and what it’s like to suffer with it. I didn’t learn anything about epilepsy after reading This Ordinary Life. I had really wanted to like this book but, I couldn’t. There were so many things about this book that I really didn’t like.

 Overall, this felt like I was reading a girls day dream. The plot characters and even the dialogue were unrealistic. I couldn’t possibly recommend This Ordinary Life to anyone.

In compliance with FTC guidelines, I must state that I received this book for free and was in no way compensated for my review.

4 thoughts on “{ARC Review} This Ordinary Life by Jennifer Walkup

  1. Pingback: November Book Haul and Wrap Up | The Petite Book Blogger

  2. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | The Petite Book Blogger

  3. Wow, that’s pretty shameful that the author didn’t seem to even research Epilepsy and wants even more surprising is that no one has mentioned that in any other review except you. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Pet Peeves | The Petite Book Blogger

Leave a Reply

