Summer Blogger Promo Tour: The Booklovers Cruise with Nicole from The Book Bandits Blog

SBPT15 MEME

Hi everyone! Can you believe that it’s already week four of The Summer Blogger Promo Tour? I am so excited to have Nicole from TheBoookBanditsBlog guest posting today! We decided to come up with a fictional cruise called The Book Lovers Cruise. So in this post Nicole will talking about where she would like to visit and what books she would read on her way to her destination. It’s basically a two part guest post feature this week as you already know Nicole will be discussing picks and next week I will be gust posting on her blog so make sure to check it out! Okay, that’s enough of my babbling

Hello!

If there is one thing to know about me it’s that I am NOT a boat kind of a gal. It’s not that I don’t like boats, it’s because I get motion sick. Because of this, and my fear that if I were to ever go on a cruise I’d be sick the entire time, I haven’t and probably wouldn’t ever go on a cruise.

But if I were to go on a cruise,  I’d want to go on a cruise based upon books and all things bookish.

Before jumping into this post, I just want to explain a few things. When Victoria and I first decided to do a ‘bookish cruise’ theme for our SBPT posts, I have to admit, I knew nothing about cruises. Seriously, I thought they only visited ports in one of the beautiful islands – i.e. Bermuda, Aruba, Jamaica, etc.. But after some research I found that some cruise lines sail all around the world!

I found one that even I, a non-boat lover, would want to go on. It would be a cruise to the Green Isles and Turkey. There are five Ports of Call:

  • Venice, Italy
  • Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • Ephesus, Turkey
  • Santorini, Greece
  • Katakolon, Greece

Because this is a book cruise I’d obviously bring books with me. And if you know me I’d probably bring one too many books.

But for the sake of my luggage being too heavy to carry, I’ve narrowed the books I’d bring along with me to only five – one for each Port of Call.

Venice, Italy: The Demon Catchers of Milan by Kat Beyer – There are many reasons why I would bring this book on a bookish cruise. For one, this specific cruise leaves from Italy — The Demon Catchers of Milan is set in one of Italy’s most famous cities! Besides that, it’s been a book that has been on my to read for quite some time.

Dubrovnik, Croatia: Chasing Power by Sarah Beth Durst –

It’s no secret: Sarah Beth Durst is one of my favorite authors! Not only are her books great, but she’s seriously the sweetest person I have EVER met! Chasing Power, features a main character who can teleport – someone who could jump from one far off location to another. Because Croatia, in my opinion is a far off destination, Chasing Power is the perfect fit for this bookish cruise.

Ephesus, Turkey: Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume –

 

Honestly, I don’t know much about Ephesus or the country of Turkey in general. But researching this ancient port, I know it’s a religious city that offers tourists visits to St. John’s Bascillica and the Virgin Mary’s Temple.  Because of this, I would bring Judy Blume’s famous, Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret to bring along with me. Not only because it deals with a girl trying to figure out her religious identity (for lack of a better term) but I’ve been told it’s a quintessential YA book that I haven’t read.

Santorini, Greece: Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares –  Greece is the newest country I’ve decided that I want to visit one day. And if this bookish cruise were real, and I was really visiting Santorini, I would probably bring Sisterhood Everlasting with me. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series holds such a special spot in my book loving heart. I loved and connected with the all of the characters, I equally laughed and cried throughout the series, and when it was all done, I said goodbye to the characters  who became friends … then Sisterhood Everlasting came out, and for many reason I couldn’t bring myself to read it. I want to — really, I do! If I were visiting Greece, I’d take Lena along with me, and I’d revisit the series I loved so much! And I’d finally reconnect with the friends I lost touch with — even though I just know something devastating is going to happen in Sisterhood Everlasting.

Katakolon, Greece: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini – It just wouldn’t be right if I were to visit Greece and not bring a Greek Mythology retelling! Starcrossed is one of my favorites, and it’s book one in a trilogy that I haven’t yet finished. Visiting Katakolon, Greece on my bookish cruise gives me the perfect opportunity to, not only re-read Starcrossed, but to read the remaining books in the trilogy: Dreamless (Starcrossed #2) and Goddess (Starcrossed #3).

So there you have it! If I were going on a bookish cruise, those are the five books I’d take along with me!

About the Blogger:

ANG_Ch1C_400x400

Hi! My name is Nicole. I’m a librarian by day, and a book blogger by night. I’m (obviously) an avid reader who is also an aspiring writer. I am a complete and utter music junkie, a sucker for any book to movie adaption, and I buy way too much makeup for one girl. My favorite author and book changes daily. And terrible at the ‘about’ me section of anything. For more info about me and my blog check out http://thebookbandit.wordpress.com

One thought on “Summer Blogger Promo Tour: The Booklovers Cruise with Nicole from The Book Bandits Blog

  1. Pingback: SBPT: Wrap up post!!! | The Petite Book Blogger

Leave a Reply

