{Arc Review} Crazy Mountain Kiss by Keith McCafferty plus a GIVEAWAY!!!

23399004

Crazy Mountain Kiss (Sean Stranahan Mystery #4)

By Keith McCafferty

Release date: June 9, 2015

Pages: 336

Format: E-Arc

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary:

In the latest addition to this acclaimed series, PI Stranahan and Sheriff Ettinger reunite to investigate a young girl’s death

It’s April, but there’s still snow on the Montana mountains the day a member of the Madison River Liar and Fly Tiers club finds a Santa hat in the chimney of his rented cabin. With the flue clogged and desperate to make a fire, he climbs up to the roof, only to find the body of a teenage girl wedged into the chimney. When Sheriff Martha Ettinger and her team arrive to extract the body they identify the victim as Cinderella “Cindy” Huntingdon, a promising young rodeo star, missing since November.

Was Cindy murdered? Or running for her life—and if so, from whom? Cindy’s mother, Etta, hires private detective Sean Stranahan to find out. Jasper Fey, the girl’s stepfather, believes moving on is the only way to heal. But Etta’s not willing to let it go, and neither are Sean or Martha, who find clues to the death in the mysterious legends of the Crazy Mountains. The fourth book in McCafferty’s mystery series features a brisk, savvy plot and charming yet authentic characters—perfect for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.

The story Crazy Mountain Kiss follows private investigator Sean Stranahan and sheriff Martha Ettinger as they try to solve the horrific death of a corpse found stuck in a chimney. The corpse is later identified as Cinderella “Cindy” Huntington a runaway girl who’s been missing for the past five months. As the story goes on we find out more about events leading up to her death.

Crazy Mountain Kiss is an extremely well written mystery. I wouldn’t necessarily say that this is a fast paced thriller and that you can’t turn the pages fast enough. This is not that type of mystery. The author  does an excellent job of telling the story. Every few chapters a new plot twist would be revealed and new information would come to light. At first the book was a little slow but after about 60 pages the pace started to pick up. I haven’t read the earlier books in this series so
I wasn’t that familiar with the characters relationships and at times it would become confusing. I would definitely recommend reading the series in order because there are some instances where they refer to previous events in the story and will definitely spoil earlier books. Another interesting thing about this book is how the Crazy Mountain played an integral part of the story. The mix of characters consisted of ranchers, former rodeo stars, law enforcement and other disreputable people. They were all very well written and diverse. One of the main characters was a Native American so being able to read about the culture and their beliefs was a nice touch to the book. I did have an issue with the dialogue it read more like a 50s western than a modern day investigation. Other than that this book exceeded my expectations and was a quick leisurely read. I would recommend this series to fans of Jø Nesbø I think that their characters and their writing style is very similar.

************************************************************************************************************************************************************

a Rafflecopter giveaway// <![CDATA[
A Rafflecopter Giveaway

Must be 13 years or older

U.S. residents only

I received crazy mountain Kiss from Penguin random house and Netgalley. All opinions stated are my own I was in no way compensated for this review.
// ]]>

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s