{Review} Legacy (Legacy #1) by Ellery A. Kane

23222016

Legacy (Legacy #1)

Author: Ellery A. Kane
Published: September 5th 2014
Publisher: Balboa Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 254 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian
Stars: 5/5

How do you want to feel today?

In 2041, the choice is yours. San Francisco is deserted, the Bay Bridge bombed, and the BART subway trains grounded. The Guardians, members of an elite and mysterious government-appointed military police force, are maintaining order at all costs—thanks to emotion-altering drugs like Emovere that suppress fear and anxiety. Lex Knightley, daughter of a prominent forensic psychiatrist, risks entering the devastated city to partner with the Resistance, a group of rebels intent upon exposing the dangers of Emovere. Lex discovers an ally in Quin McAllister, a magnetic Guardian Force recruit with a haunting past that binds them together. As she uncovers the secrets of the Guardian Force and confronts the truth about her family, Lex begins to realize that even those closest to her are not quite who they seem.


Review

WOW.

That’s all that I can say right now because this book is absolutely amazing!! Its so hard for me to put into words how much I really love this book because I don’t even know where to even begin. What makes Legacy a standout, in my opinion, in the dystopian genre is that the protagonist Lex is helping her mother expose the dangers of her own invention Emovere, an emotion-altering drug that suppress fear and anxiety. I like the premise of the book where it really explores how people can cross that fine line in science experimentation and morality. Emotions are what makes us human and to take that away what does that leave us with? 

As I then got around to thinking about it I realized that there are substances out there that do alter emotions and that people seek them out.We really do try to alter our own emotions and even though we don’t have Emovere there is a very real possibility that one day something like this could possibly be invented. This to me is what makes the book so interesting because the whole premise of the book is about what would happen if we were to alter or try to erase certain emotions and we really get to see what that would be like and the repercussions of doing something like that would be. Legacy is a thought provoking book that explores many important topics such as trauma victims and the reasons why people would want to alter their emotions.

The story was interesting and had many plot twists. The were times where I was completely blindsided. Lex was a bit naive but was also strong, smart and brave. I really liked all of the characters except for Lex’s mother, she got on my nerves. I thought that  the characters are real what they went through, their struggles, their emotions are all genuine and realistic. While Lex and Quin’s relationship wasn’t my favorite I’m sure that its something that I will eventually grow to love. While I wasn’t shocked about certain things I was also never bored.

Overall, I loved the premise of the book and I think that its original and thought provoking. The story was fast paced and I was so completely absorbed in the story that I finished the book in two days. I can’t wait for the next book in the series because I need to know what happens next. I NEED the Prophecy right now!

I received a copy of Legacy from the author Ellery A. Kane in exchange for an honest review. All opinions stated are my own and I was in no way compensated for my review.

3 thoughts on “{Review} Legacy (Legacy #1) by Ellery A. Kane

  1. Great review! I didn’t hear about this book before (well, except in your latest post when you talked about it a bit), and I’m even more intrigued after reading your review. I definitely need to read this book! Thanks for the discovery Victoria! 😀
    And I just nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award ! You can check out my blog for details ! 🙂
    Have an amazing day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

